The Procedure

TheSnoreCenterWaitingRoom

The morning of the procedure was a complete disaster.  I had a level seven sinus headache and I was petrified they wouldn’t be able to do it because of the inflammation.  The only thing that helped me through the pain was the possibility of not suffering like this again for another five years.  I felt my headache move from the level 7 to the 7.5 range.  I called the doctor’s office and got permission to take a Claritin (which only ever just dials the pain back a bit).  I got to the doctor’s office about an hour early.  I wanted to make sure I had plenty of time to complete any additional paperwork because I was an out-of-town patient.

The nurse called me in and I let her know that I was having a sinus headache and she gave me an ibuprofen to reduce the inflammation.  She got my weight (ugh), asked me about drug allergies and got my blood pressure.  This is when the second calamity hit.  When I have a headache, I move my face as little as possible.  This means not taking pills.  I took the Claritin, but I didn’t take my high blood pressure pills.  You should have seen the look on the nurse’s face when she got a look at my blood pressure.  She talked to me about it for about five minutes.  Then the doctor came in and talked to me for about 15 minutes.  Because the medication I would be administered also increases blood pressure, he would not be able to perform the procedure.  He suggested that my headaches may be a product of my blood pressure.  I informed him that I’ve had sinus headaches long before my blood pressure was a problem.

He performed an exam of my nasal passages and said my turbinates were “huge and inflamed”, but that alone wouldn’t keep me from having the procedure.  He said for me to go back to the hotel, take my high blood pressure medication, relax and come back to the office at 4:00 p. m.  I was so relieved I was numb.  At this point, there was still a possibility I would have to reschedule for another day which would mean a mad scramble to extend my hotel stay and change the departure date on my train ticket.

Leave a comment